United Methodist Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

The Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church sponsored this award at Syracuse University since 1982 to recognize the teaching and scholarship of an outstanding professor. This award emphasizes the dual nature of faculty commitment to teaching and scholarly/creative work.

Due to changes in the sponsor’s selection requirements and benefits associated with the award, Syracuse University is not currently participating in this award program.

2017  Thomas Perreault, Geography
2016  Tara Helfman, College of Law
2015  Lawrence Mason, Newhouse, Multimedia Photography and Design
2014  Cliff Davidson, Engineering
2013  Karen Kirkhart, Falk College, Social Work
2012  Claudia Miller, A&S, Mathematics
2011  Barbara Applebaum, Education, Cultural Foundations
2010  Ted Brown, Architecture
2009  Barbara Kwasnik, iSchool, Information Studies
2008  Kendall Phillips, CVPA, Communication and Rhetorical Studies
2007  Christine Himes, Maxwell, Sociology
2005  David McDonald, CVPA, Art and Design
2004  Gerardine Clark, CVPA, Drama
2003  Peter Saulson, A&S, Physics
2002 Frances E. Zollers, Management, Law Public Policy
2001  Jay Wright, Newhouse, Public  Communication
2000  G. Burton Harbison, CVPA, Music
1999  James Graves, Education, Exercise  Science
1998  William Wiecek, College of Law
1996  Kenneth Hardy, HSHP,  Child and Family  Studies
1995  J.  Roger Sharp, Maxwell, History
1994  Alejandro Garcia, HSHP,  Social Work
1993  Laurence Thomas, A&S, Philosophy
1992  Marlene Davis, Architecture
1991  Cathryn Newton, A&S,  Earth Sciences
1990  Sam Clemence, Engineering, Civil Engineering
1989  Phillip Church, A&S, Mathematics
1988  Marta Dosa, Information Studies
1987  David Bennett, Maxwell, History
1986  Sarah Short, HSHP, Nutrition
1985  Robert McClure Maxwell, Political  Science
1984  Rolena Adorno A&S, LLL
1983  David Wilemon, Management, Marketing
1982  David Miller A&S, Religion